29 Jun Everything about yeast extract
After centuries of bread, beer and wine, a new potential was discovered for yeast in the 19th century by Professor von Liebig. The interest in yeast as an aromatic base to improve the flavors of soups, broths, sauces and other dishes had been developed until the 50’s, when yeast extract arrived on the market.
Yeast is a microorganism which belongs to the fungus family. The first yeast originated hundreds of millions of years ago. It is composed of: proteins 49%, carbohydrates 40%, minerals 7% and lipids 4%. Those components are protected from the extracellular environment by a cell wall.
Yeast extract comes from yeast
Yeast extract comes from fresh yeast and is therefore a natural origin ingredient. No synthetic or chemical ingredients are added during its production. It keeps its natural attributes and organoleptic qualities throughout the whole manufacturing process: its inner enzymes1 cut yeast proteins into amino acids to isolate tasty components. Thus, we obtain yeast extract.
A gluten-free ingredient
Baker’s yeast extracts usually do not contain gluten as no gluten derivative is used during the process. This is a good thing when you know that gluten-free is a main food trends: the prevalence of gluten intolerance has been estimated to globally approximate 1%2. According to this trend, even people who do not have celiac disease are trying to avoid it.
Yeast extract is a non-animal ingredient which make it the ideal choice for many vegan products. This is a chance to bring taste to vegan products and also proteins, vitamins and minerals. Moreover, the yeast strains selected by Biospringer to manufacture yeast products are not genetically modified organisms.3 All our products are also certified Halal and Kosher by recognized organizations. Finally, yeast extract is a process resistant ingredient (acid, heat, and freeze) and is therefore suitable for many applications, regardless of the process, such as soups, broths, fish, meat and analogue products and seasonings.